Posted by: Wagons Ho | October 6, 2011

Tired of the dust

I read something recently about how everything we think we know about wagon trains is wrong. All the images of these long wagon trains, one wagon after another, traveling west to make a new life is just a made up version of how it really was. That in reality wagon trains would spread out for miles, side by side, because if they had really traveled in a straight line everyone behind the lead wagon would have drunk in the dust and been stuck in deep ruts made by the wagons ahead. So they spread out. They traveled together but side by side making their way to a new life.

Now whether or not that is true I don’t know but it got me to thinking about my journey. Yeah, yeah corny I know but still it did. I started thinking about the rut I have made for myself.  I’ve let myself drift along the same path for several years now, not really doing anything different other than  saying I was going to make some changes. So I decided it was time to try something new. Something that will be fun, where I can share the craziness that goes on in my life and maybe find a new path with less dust and more adventure.

Here goes nothing!

Responses

  1. […] this blog it was supposed to be about finding my way out of the daily rut I had gotten myself into (Tired of the dust). And I did for a long time. And then I didn’t for a long time. Then mom died and I crawled […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

