Posted by: Wagons Ho | October 8, 2011

40 is the new 80

When did 40 become so old? I was watching Survivor this week and one of the contestants was talking about how she is the oldest player this season. How she has nothing in common with the young kids, etc. She’s 40 She made it sound like she was ancient.

My husband is watching baseball (and football and hockey) and the announcer is talking about one of  the players who was saying he hoped he was still playing when he is 46 like his idol did. As if playing baseball when you are 46 is such an amazing feat it would be hard to imagine.

I was in a mom’s support group meeting a couple of weeks ago and one of the younger moms was talking about her sister-in-law who wants to wait until she is 30 to have kids. She goes on to say that her response was “but you’ll be like FORTY! when they are 10.” She said 40 like it was the oldest age she had ever heard of.

If you haven’t guessed by now I’m 40, almost 41. I don’t remember ever thinking 40 was old. Who knows maybe I did and if so I apologize to anyone who was 40 then. I certainly don’t feel 40, whatever it’s supposed to feel like. I feel pretty much the same as I did when I was 20 and 30.  I like to laugh all night with my girlfriends, watch stupid movies with no redeeming qualities and occasionally spend money on stuff that is completely irresponsible. Of course I’m also ready to tell my friends bye and head to bed by 11 and I’ll often skip the expensive stupid movies for a stupid TV show I can watch from my couch.  But that doesn’t make me OLD it just makes me tired. I mean heck I have 2 kids, 2 jobs, 3 pets and a husband, all off which take a lot of energy. Ok fine I’m older. But really 40 is not that old people. Now I’m off to cuddle under my afghan with a nice cup of tea while I find something stupid to watch on TV and gripe to my husband about how great TV on Saturday nights used to be.

Responses

  1. You are so not old, you are just getting started girl, the prime of your life!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

