Posted by: Wagons Ho | October 14, 2011

What is $500 worth?

$500. That’s what I’m stressing over. I’ve worked for the same company for 11 years, 7 of those as a telecommuter. Two months ago they decided that I could no longer work with the baby in the house unless I had a babysitter here too. The fact that I have never missed a deadline, never had a complaint about my work, always have great reviews and worked with my older son here until he was 15 months old wasn’t even considered. So I ran the numbers, I pouted, I complained, I bitched and moaned and then found a sitter. Everything was running smoothly and then she gave her notice.

So here I am. I need to find a new sitter and don’t really want to. I’ve posted ads and asked for referrals and no luck so far. It has only been a couple of days but I need to get it settled for my sanity. I called our old daycare to see what their rates are. It was depressing to hear the numbers. Don’t get me wrong they are worth every penny. Our older son went there for 3 years and loved every minute of it. The staff is great and I never worried about him for one minute while he was there. We couldn’t ask for a better daycare it’s just that I don’t want to send him anywhere. I knew eventually he would need to go but I really wanted to keep him home with me for at least the first year.

After running all the numbers we’re looking at $500 a month difference in working vs. not working. So is $500 worth sending my 5mth old to a daycare? Is $500 worth the guilt I’ll feel about that? Is $500 worth not having to worry about every penny we spend? Is $500 worth being able to plan trips to the beach and buy the latte because I want it? What is $500 worth?

Leave a Reply

Categories

