Posted by: Wagons Ho | October 18, 2011

The great babysitter hunt

The hunt for a new sitter has begun. It sucks. I think, no I know, that part of the problem is I don’t want to hire a new sitter. I want things to be the way they were. I hear you saying “Change is hard”. Blah. Blah. Blah. Change isn’t hard, change freaking sucks.  Especially when it’s change that is forced on you. But since I’m not willing to bite the bullet and quit my job (yet) I need to get with the program and find someone quickly.

Now comes the fun part of weeding out the wackos from the only partly wackos. Here’s what we have so far

Wackos:

– Asks me if the pay is negotiable and then wants 3 1/2 times what I am offering.

– Emails me about the job saying how interested she is and that she can start right away and then never answers me back about setting up an interview

– Emails me about the job using very little punctuation and really poor grammar. I know I’m not one to talk but she also lists that she has a degree as an administrative assistant. I’m guessing typing letters wasn’t part of the class.

Partly Wackos:

– At beginning of interview I mention we have a 5yr old in addition to the 5mth old. Partly wacko “Wow that’s a big age difference!”  Me “Yes it is a gap.” PW makes some comment about age difference again, hinting for a reason. Me “Our boys are adopted so we had a bit of a wait between them.” PW “What you couldn’t have kids?!” Me Dumbfounded look. NEXT!!!

– Uses a glamor shot for her sitter profile shot.  Lists that she is not comfortable with pets (we have 3) and when I tell her thank you for applying but we have pets says “Oh that’s old from when I was going to do care in my home. Pets are ok. I have a roommate with a dog & a cat and I have 3 bearded dragons”. Ummm ok…. NEXT!!!

Can’t wait for the next application to come in. Maybe it will be Freddy K applying. He is great at bedtime and singing songs.

Leave a Reply

Categories

