Posted by: Wagons Ho | February 16, 2012

The beach is calling

I love the beach. The sound of the waves crashing, the smell of the salt water, the feel of the warm sand. When I dream about what we’ll do with our lottery winnings the first thing on the list, after all the grown up responsible stuff, is buy a beach house.

A couple of years ago a few friends were headed to the beach for a quick girls get away so I decided to join in the fun. Little did I know that I would fall in love that weekend. We live about three hours from the beach but rarely go and we had never been to the Outer Banks. I had no clue what we had been missing! It’s only an hour farther away and is honestly one of the most beautiful places we have been.

I loved the beaches in California and Cuba, but the Outer Banks (OBX) calls to me. The small town feel. The cute cottages tucked up against the huge mansions. The stretches of open beaches. The wild horses and seashells for miles. I’ve only been a few times but it feels like home. Maybe I lived there in some former life. I long to live there in this life.

After that quick trip down with the girls I couldn’t wait to go back. I told Marshall we had to go. I called my parents and sister and gushed about it and started planning a trip back. The next summer we rented a house and went down for a week. I never wanted to leave. Our house was a few feet from the ocean. Laying in bed at night we could hear the waves. Sitting on the porch swing in the mornings we could watch the dolphins. It was a fantastic trip. We really lucked out when a few weeks after we got home we were invited to spend the 4th of July weekend in the OBX. We jumped at the chance to go and even though the traffic going down was the worst, those few days on the beach made it all worth while.

We never got down to the beach last year. We took a trip home to visit family at the beginning of summer and with the new baby, and life in general, the year passed us by before we knew it. We are going back this year though. The house has been booked. The daydreaming has begun. I can’t wait to introduce the baby to the beach that I love so much. I wonder if he’ll love it like Trapp and I do, or be able to take it or leave it like Marshall. It may take a few years before we know. I do know that the beach is calling me and I can’t wait till we can talk in person again.

Leave a Reply

Categories

