Posted by: Wagons Ho | May 7, 2012

Damn shopping cart covers

A few months ago, when the baby was ready to start sitting in the cart, I decided I better get a shopping cart cover. We had one for Trapp and it was great.  Of course that had been 4 years earlier and now we had no clue where it was. Since we had gotten rid of most the baby stuff we assumed we had gotten rid of the cart cover too.   I don’t know if you have bought a shopping cart cover recently but those things are ridiculously expensive. So in yet another one of my Target breakdowns (ask me about the formula incident one day) I decided I was not going to pay that much for a cart cover. I would make one instead! And I did. It’s pretty darn cute if you ask me. I refuse to discuss how much I spent making it though.

Cut to tonight. Trapp has crazy hair day at school tomorrow so I asked Marshall to dig through the Halloween stuff for a clown wig that we used to have. Marshall comes into the living room saying he couldn’t find the wig but look what he did find. It was Trapp’s shopping cart cover. How it ended up in one of the Halloween boxes is beyond me. I started to laugh and broke down in tears.

In a few short days the baby will be one year old. I’ve been a little emotional about it. Ok, I teared up opening the last can of formula this morning. I’m a mom, I’m allowed. I think back to where we were a year ago, blissfully unaware that this new little life was going to be coming into ours. I can still hear the social worker’s call. She started by asking if I was sitting down and I instantly knew. Two years and 7 mths of waiting were finally over. I started to cry. I devoured every detail she had about the baby. I was ready to hop in the car and pick him up right that minute.

The year has flown by. The tiny, helpless baby they handed us is now an adventurous toddler. His perfect gummy smile now has 4 tiny teeth. The bottles of formula are being replaced with sippy cups and straws. He is funny and smart and stubborn to the core, just like everyone else in this family. I hold him every day and give thanks that this perfect little soul found his way to us. He filled a spot in our hearts we didn’t even know was empty. I can’t wait to see him grow over the coming years. Now if I could just find a way to quit crying over that damn shopping cart cover.

Leave a Reply

Categories

