Posted by: Wagons Ho | February 28, 2013

When I grow up

What do you want to be when you grow up? Seems like such a simple question. We ask kids that all the time and they always have an answer, or three. You would think that by now I would know what I want to be when I grow up. After all I’m 42, a college graduate, a wife, a mother. How can I not know something so basic about myself. But I don’t. I went to college for my chosen career thinking “Well if I don’t like it it’s only a few years out of my life.” And I did love it for several years. Then I tried a different job in the same field and liked that too. That led to my current job which I also enjoyed for a long time. But after 10 years in this position, 13 total with the same company, I know this is not what I want to do with the rest of my life. I’ve tried other things along the way and enjoyed them all but nothing has stuck.

Sometimes I feel like a career hypochondriac. When I talk to someone about their career, or new business idea, I think “Ohhhh that sounds interesting. I should do that!” It never goes much past the thinking/researching stage though. I started working with a life coach in hopes of finding the answer. It’s been an interesting process. I’ve found some peace in my current job and we are slowly figuring out what I might want to do. Change is hard though and as much as I want to find something new I also find myself resisting.

What I need to find is a way to get paid for doing nothing. I’m great at doing nothing! Since I’m not independently wealthy, and I don’t have any rich relatives (that I know of anyway), the odds of that happening are pretty low. A girl can dream though. Maybe while I’m dreaming I’ll dream up a career that I’ll love. Until then what do you do? I’m guessing it’s really interesting.

Leave a Reply

Categories

