Posted by: Wagons Ho | July 29, 2013

It puts the lotion on its skin

Max has a sensitive tushie. I blame our friends. They gave us a bunch of diaper cream at the baby shower which jinxed us.  We hadn’t ever used diaper cream on Trapp so I couldn’t imagine we would need it. Little did I know we should have bought stock in the stuff. This kid can go from perfectly normal to red and raw, like no one changed his diaper in 3 days, in the blink of an eye. He’s had a pretty bad case of diaper rash lately so we have loaded him up on cream at every diaper change. That’s led to some weird conversations with him at diaper change time.

Me- “Let’s change your diaper.”

Max- “NO!”

“Yes. You stink and I need to change you.”

“My butt hurts.”

“I know it hurts that’s why we need to change your diaper.” Diaper changing begins.

“Do you have butt cream?”

“Yes.”

“Where? Where’s the butt cream?!”

“Right here.” I show him the tube.

“Let me hold it.”

“You don’t need to hold it. I’ll put it on.”

“NO! Let me hold it. I need it. I NEED the butt cream!!!!” I hand him the cream.

“Fine. Now hold still so I can clean you up.”

“No! It hurts. I need the cream.”

“I know you need it. I’ll put it on in a minute. I have to clean you up first.”

“Mommy will put on the butt cream?”

“Yes, give me the tube.”

“I help you.”

“Thanks, but I can do it.”

“No I help!” I start to put on the cream, he giggles. “That tickles.”

“Sorry. Ok, we’re done. All better?”

“Yes. I needed butt cream mommy.”

Potty training can’t be done soon enough.

Responses

  1. Cream and butts were an issue for us too, now were peeing on the toilet *does dance* and crapping in our underpants *slumps back in the chair*

    • We had that same issue with our oldest. So frustrating!


Leave a Reply

Categories

