Posted by: Wagons Ho | January 11, 2014

The scream jar

I’m a screamer. When I’m frustrated, tired, angry, sometimes when I have no clue why, I scream at the people I love. I’m not proud to admit that, but it’s true. A while back I was reading something by a mom who was a screamer. She talked about the look in her children’s eyes when she would scream and how they had started to get that look when they thought she was going to scream. I could see myself in her words. I’ve known for a while now I need to get control of it. I would tell myself I was going to stop, and would do ok for a while. But before long I’d find myself loosing it again. So I decided one of my goals for 2014 was to make a concentrated effort to stop. It’s a habit I let myself get away with, and one I can break.

I wrote it down on my list of things I’m working in this year. #1 Less yelling and cursing. I figured as long as I’m working on the screaming thing I really should cut down on the cursing too. It’s another bad habit I have let myself get away with for far too long. Next I told Marshall, and the kids, my goal. Then I pulled out a jar to put my scream money in. I decided I would add $1 anytime I screamed, and $0.25 for every curse word.

I’m 11 days into the challenge now. I’ve been very good about putting in my money, even if no one else was around to hear me curse. Marshall is doing it with me and we’ve gotten the kids involved on a smaller level. Trapp even made himself a scream box today. I had charged him a quarter a couple of times over the last few days for screaming and he decided he wanted to put it in his own box so it was still “his money.” He had a blast decorating it. Max keeps asking for a quarter so he can give me one too.

I won’t say it’s been easy. The other night after the kids went to bed I sat on the couch and cursed just for the heck of it. I had to get it out! Sad, but true. Marshall kept a running total for me. He loved that. I have yelled less though. If nothing else it has made me really think about what I’m doing before I just let loose. Maybe someday there won’t be any money in the jar at all. I can’t imagine that day yet but it’s possible! Until then we’ll use the money that is in there for fun family adventures. Maybe even some stuff where it’s ok to yell while you are doing it, so we can all get it out.

Responses

  1. Great idea! Will definitely be doing this at home. Sadly I need it way too much


Leave a Reply

Categories

